Skip to main content

Love You Bad - Louise Mullins

 


Description

Kerensa lives a life of privilege few could imagine. Loving husband. Luxury home. Financial security. But in the attic of their sea view mansion is a secret waiting to be discovered, threatening to destroy their perfect marriage.

When their daughter's au pair uncovers Dominic's carefully constructed illusion, one lie at a time, it ends in murder. But whose?

A twisty page-turning psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, and Louise Candlish. Yet will equally appeal to readers of romantic suspense by authors such as Kendra Elliot, Mary Burton, Melinda Leigh, and Willow Rose.

Review

Trigger warning for violence and strong/sexual language.

I actually read this book in one sitting, as once I started I couldn't put it down.

The story is told alternatively from the perspective of Domonic and Kerensa in five parts. The action also flips between the past and the present with each successive part bringing the past nearer to the present. 

It's certainly a very dark and disturbing tale.  I was trying to piece together some of what had happened in the past, second guessing what I thought had happened. However, short chapters meant it was moving so fast I just had to keep reading. When things finally began to come to a head I only hoped it was all going to turn out ok, but it wasn't to be and the book went off again with a new twist. 

Atmospheric writing and believable characters mean it's a little bit like car crash tv. You can't believe what you are reading, but you can't stop either.  It's difficult to say more without ruining the plot of the book. 

I'm giving this book 4 out of 5 stars. My thanks to Zooloo's booktours for the invite to the Book Tour and for the ARC of the book for review.



Author

Louise Mullins writes full-time using the experience she gained in a prior life working in the field of forensic mental health, working with offenders and survivors of serious crimes.

 

To keep up to date with her latest releases, visit her website: www.louisemullinsauthor.com. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram as: @mullinsauthor. 




Follow her at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Louisemullins80

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mullinsauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MullinsAuthor

Website : www.louisemullinsauthor.com



Comments

  1. Thank you ever so much for this fab review and for taking part in the tour x

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Those leaving a comment on any post on this blog do so in the knowledge that their name and blog link are visible to all who visit this blog and by providing their comment they have published their own personal details on this blog and also consented to our use of that personal information for that specific purpose.

Popular posts from this blog

The Memories We Bury by H.A. Leuschel @HALeuschel @lovebooksgroup #lovebookstours

I'm so pleased to be on the Book Tour today. Description An emotionally charged and captivating novel about the complexities of female friendship and motherhood Lizzie Thomson has landed her first job as a music teacher, and after a whirlwind romance with Markus, the newlywed couple move into a beautiful new home in the outskirts of Edinburgh. Lizzie quickly befriends their neighbour Morag, an elderly, resourceful yet lonely widow, whose own children rarely visit her. Everything seems perfect in Lizzie’s life until she finds out she is pregnant and her relationship with both Morag and Markus change beyond her control. Can Lizzie really trust Morag and why is Markus keeping secrets from her? In The Memories We Bury the author explores the dangerous bonds we can create with strangers and how past memories can cast long shadows over the present. Review This book on the surface appears to be a tale of complete domesticity. A young married couple with no close support and a neighbour w

BLOODSTOCK / SIMON ELLICE SERIES Blog Tour - Rod Humphris

I'm thrilled to be on the Blog Tour today for the Simon Ellice Series of books. This review is going to cover all four books in the series. Bloodstock the latest release is out now. I'm going to start with the previous book in the series. Description Highly charged, action packed and intelligent, Go Fast is set in the vivid, exotic location of Morocco and is the first novel in the Simon Ellice series. On moonless nights Si runs hash from Morocco to Spain in his go-fast boat but soon discovers he's caught up in a tangle of illegal power and hidden love. Review I love a good action film, but when it comes to the book I've been let down by Bond and Bourne. Just couldn't get into them. Not this time though, Simon Ellice is my new hero. OK so he's technically not a good guy, as he's a drug smuggler, but I'd have him on my team any day. We meet Simon and his beloved boat Nottambulo, which is super fast - the reference of the title of the book. I don't know

The C Word - An anthology of murder, mystery, death & destruction

  Great to be on the book tour today for this book today especially as 100% of all royalties from The C Word will be donated to NHS Together Charities. Description So, what do writers do during Lockdown? They create murder, mystery, death and destruction of course! The C Word is a collection of short stories collated during the COVID-19 pandemic to raise money for NHS Charities Together. A plethora of wonderful stories created by a wide variety of writers, each with their own unique style. Some you will know already and some we’ve yet to introduce you to. However, we’re sure you’ll want to hear from each and every one of them again as we leave 2020 behind us. With contributions from Steve Mosby, Sophie Hannah, Elly Griffiths, Sarah Hilary, Rob Scragg, Trevor Wood and many more. Review A great collection of short stories and certainly written for our times. Some of these stories were a little too dark for my usual reading tastes, but as they were short I stuck with them. There could als